MCA 2013

Mathematical Congress of the Americas 2013
MCA2017 banner

August 5-9, 2013 Guanajuato, Mexico

About the Congress

The goal of the MCA has been to highlight the excellence of mathematical achievements in the Americas within the context of the international arena, and foster collaborations among researchers, students, institutions and mathematical societies in the Americas.

MCA2013 gathered almost one thousand mathematicians in Guanajuato, Mexico, from August 5 to 9, 2013, with a positive evaluation from its participants.

We are now happy to announce that the second Mathematical Congress of the Americas already has a host and will take place on July 23-28, 2017. Please read more information here

Plenary speakers

James Arthur

James Arthur

(Toronto, Canada)

Artur Avila

Artur Avila

(IMPA, Brazil and CNRS, France)

Manjul Bhargava

Manjul Bhargava

(Princeton, USA)

Luis Caffarelli

Luis Caffarelli

(Texas, USA)

Kannan Soundararajan

Ingrid Daubechies

(Duke, USA)

Invited speakers

  • Martin Barlow (British Columbia, Canada)
  • Mónica Clapp (UNAM, Mexico)
  • Fernando Codá Marques (IMPA, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
  • Gonzalo Contreras (CIMAT, Mexico)
  • Octav Cornea (Montréal, Canada)
  • Alicia Dickenstein (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
  • Patricio Felmer (CMM, Chile)
  • Clovis Gonzaga (Florianópolis, Brazil)
  • Christof Geiss (UNAM, Mexico)
  • Onésimo Hernandez-Lerma (CINVESTAV, Mexico)
  • Yoshiharu Kohayakawa (Sao Paulo, Brazil)
  • Mark Lewis (Alberta, Canada)
  • Alejandro Maass (CMM, Santiago, Chile)
  • Robert McCann (Toronto, Canada)
  • Roberto Miatello (Cordoba, Argentina)
  • Fernando Rodriguez-Villegas (Austin, Texas, US)
  • Martin Sambarino (Montevideo, Uruguay)
  • Eva Tardos (Cornell, US)
  • Eduardo Teixeira (Fortaleza, Brazil)
  • Gunther Uhlman (Washington and UC Irving, US)
  • Amie Wilkinson (Northwestern and Chicago, US)

Steering Committee

  • Alejandro Adem (Canada)
    Professor of Mathematics and Canada Research Chair at the University of British Columbia, and Director of the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences
  • Uri Ascher (Canada)
    Computer Science Department 2366 Main Mall University of British Columbia Vancouver, B.C., Canada
  • Susan Friedlander (US)
    Department of Mathematics University of Southern California Los Angeles, CA. Officer of A.M.S. Associate Secretary, American Mathematical Society 1996-2010
  • Servet Martinez (Chile)
    Mathematical Engineering at the University of Chile
  • Jose Antonio de la Peña (México)
    Director of the Mathematics Research Center, AC CIMAT
  • Marcelo Viana (Brazil)
    Professor of Mathematics and the current Deputy Director of the Instituto de Matematica Pura e Aplicada (IMPA) in Rio de Janeiro

Programme Committee

  • Jerry Bona
    University of Illinois at Chicago
  • David Brydges
    University of British Columbia
  • Andrew Granville
    University of Montreal
  • Marty Golubitsky
    Ohio State University
  • Laszlo Lovasz
    Eötvös Loránd University
  • Dusa McDuff
    Columbia University
  • Enrique Pujals
    Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics
  • Jaime San Martin
    Universidad de Chile
  • Richard Schoen
    Standford University
  • Jose Seade
    Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • Juan Alfredo Tirao
    Universidad Nacional de Córdoba
  • Margaret Wright
    New York University

Organizing Committee

The Organizing Committee will be responsable for academic activities additional to the main Program. Among other activities the OC will make calls for:

  • Satellite Meetings
  • Workshops prior to MCA2013
  • Poster Sessions
  • Other Activities

The work of the OC will be coordinated by Renato Iturriaga and Rafael Herrera, from CIMAT.